5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 12, 2014 6:53 AM by Harald Naumann RSS

Is possible to place an Antenna inside a metal case?

Diego Del Mul Newbie

Hi everybody

I'm developing a device that needs both GPS and GPRS modules.

This device has to be burglary, so I do prefer not place the antennas outside, but inside the metal case that protects the device.

I wonder if there are any antenna enough strong to work even closed in a metal case.

Thanks, Diego

• Re: Is possible to place an Antenna inside a metal case?
    Pablo Bacho Newbie

Hi Diego, first of all I'm not an expert on antennas, so this is afaik. RF waves are made of two fields, electric and magnetic. Electric field won't pass through metal, this actually means that most of its energy will be reflected, though a little part might. This depends on how thick the metal is and other properties of the material and you will have to test if its enough for you (given a strong signal) but it's not a good practice at all. Magnetic field in the other hand will pass through metal, though there are special antennas to capture each field (typical monopole/dipole antennas are used for the electric field, and those with a loop made of conductor for the magnetic). I don't know if there are magnetic field antennas for those technologies. Also, you might find special antennas to put outside the case which aren't easily removed, just wondering. Hope this is right and helps! and double-check what I'm saying anyway!

aelyafi Novice

Hola Diego,

I found this article while Googling, hope it helps:

http://www.gsm-modem.de/M2M/m2m-faq/cellular-antenna-working-inside-all-metal-case/

I believe the author of this blog is on m2m.com.

Tony Yang Apprentice

Hi

Maybe we can try such antenna which can be fixed outside.

Shenzhen Yinghua Technology Co.,Ltd

---Manufacturer of Industrial GPRS/CDMA/3G Modem and Router

Http:// www.yinghuatn.com

Tel:+86-755-36690123 Fax:+86-755-36690121

Email: service@yinghuatn.com

Antenna.jpg