7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 25, 2014 12:35 AM by rafael bacud RSS

3G for M2M in Canada and USA

Brett R Newbie

Hello,

I am very interested to know the progress on M2M using 3G in Canada and USA. 

I am new to this and not clear on the understanding of migration (if there is??) from 2G to 3G in Canada and USA.

I have read that ROGERS in CANADA is converting 2G towers to 3G and would like to get a better understanding on this evolution.

I am working on a project (in Toronto, ON) that requires M2M and there are 2G dead-zones

Can anyone please point me to where "current reliable info on M2M - 2G to 3G changes> I also am looking for a detailed map of 2G towers in Toronto.

Thank you in advance

• Re: 3G for M2M in Canada and USA
    Tony Yang Novice

Hi

There are many M2M applications using 2G/3G on the whole world. When the data flow is small, we use GPRS. If transmit video or large data, we chose 3G.

Power supply monitor and control system.jpg

Failover between DSL and 3G.jpg

If signal is bad, we usually use two ways to try, change big antenna or change installation site. In most cases, the ISP will not add a new tower for few users.

Shenzhen Yinghua Technology Co.,Ltd

---Manufacturer of Industrial GPRS/CDMA/3G Modem and Router

Http:// www.yinghuatn.com

Tel:+86-755-36690123 Fax:+86-755-36690121

Email: service@yinghuatn.com

jpascual Novice

Hi Brett,

Although there have been many discussions by various operators around their 2G/3G strategy there is not definitive timeline around when operators will ultimately shut down their slower networks, if at all.  Your best bet is to reach out to the various operators in the U.S./CAN and ask their sales people if there have been timelines set around the sunset of their slower networks.  With spectrum being so scarce the operators are scrambling to "reharvest" their spectrum from the slower networks and enable it for the higher 4G LTE services.